Posted by: Brenda | March 5, 2012

Day 1: A New Beginning

Food has never been a blessing to me, it’s always been more of that “comfort” during times of any type of emotion. I love junk food and rarely choose a fruit or vegetable over a cookie or twix bar. To change my life, I am taking part in a 4-week program for women that focuses on mindful eating (i.e. no TV during mealtimes), exercise and emotional health.

Day one was certainly not what I expected. When I first arrived last night after dinner and orientation, we were left to our own devices. It was odd not having a TV in my room to just flip on and veg. out to. It was also very difficult not having food to snack on. Actually, correct that because I found chocolate chip cookies in one of my bags courtesy of my well-meaning husband. Since we are not supposed to bring in outside food or drink, I voluntarily turned the cookies over to the staff.

This morning, I woke up with a pounding headache (thanks to no soda/caffeine) and a bloody nose (thanks in part by higher elevation, dry air and coumadin). The headache was really bad mid-morning to the point I was nauseous. Of course, I only brought Tylenol PM with me. Thankfully, one of my neighbors had some regular tylenol she was willing to let me have. I came back to my room and slept for an hour. I’m so glad I did because I felt so much better afterwards.

We had a 90-minute exercise class this afternoon and I can honestly say, I haven’t moved that much in a long time. It’s also been very different sitting down to a meal with no TV or computer. After dinner is the only time they serve a dessert. Although, if at any point between meals we get hungry, they have fresh fruit available.

So far, this has been a very positive experience. I still would love nothing more than to get peanut butter cups at the nearest store, but for now I have to forgo the “junk” and focus on being healthy. I plan to keep this blog going so you all can keep up with where I’m at.

Leave a Reply

Categories

