Posted by: Brenda | March 6, 2012

Day 2: Sore Muscles and New Foods

Wow, do my thigh muscles hurt today. I joined in the 7am exercise class before breakfast and later in the morning took part in a Cardio on Fitball class. I think that’s about all the exercise I can handle for today if I want to still be able to walk back to my room tonight.

I think the lecture we just had on stress management and positive self-talk is going to be the most difficult part for me to work on. I just don’t know if I can be kind to myself after so many years of self-hatred and putting myself last in everything. Breaking down those barriers is probably going to be the absolute hardest thing I have ever done. I’ve been down the diet and exercise path before, and done well at it – for a while. In the end, I always end up back to square one because I never actually focused on the root issue.

The lecture we had this afternoon focused on identifying your eating behaviors and the one suggestion that I will probably take home with me is the “cookie jar.” Basically, you write out alternatives on slips of paper and place them in a container. The only rule is that your alternatives cannot be food related. Then when you’re bored or emotional, you pick one and do that instead of eating. In the beginning, it’s going to be difficult, so the main focus should be more on becoming concious of when you are eating your emotions.

I think knowing that it is ok to have the junk food, but just be aware of why I’m eating it and whether I’m physically hungry will make it easier over time. I know one other tactic I’ll be taking home with me is eating at the table and not have the “distraction” of a TV, computer, or video game.

Also, I’ve tried several new foods already:

  • Tempeh (I still have no idea what it actually is) wasn’t bad, but was very bland
  • Parsnip – I could take it or leave it, it was more bland than the Tempeh, but wasn’t so disgusting I won’t eat it again
  • Cole slaw, made with some type of vinegar – the vinegar was way too strong for my liking, so I only had a couple bites
  • Zucchini, which I really did not care for – so instead I had a small side salad with my dinner
Responses

  1. Bravo for the new foods love!

  2. Zucchini is really good in a satay. We heat some EVOO in a frying pan, throw in some sliced zucchini and summer squash and serve with brown rice and chicken. How did they make it?


Leave a Reply

Categories

