Posted by: Brenda | March 7, 2012

Day 3: Melting Snow and Emotions

This morning we had pumpkin muffins for breakfast…so good! I went snowshoeing for the first time this morning after a Pilates class. I’m not sure I will do Pilates again, as I found it very difficult and it hurt my tailbone with some of the positions. I’m looking forward to this evenings Stress Management class on “Making sleep work for you.” I am really glad I got the snowshoeing in this morning, as the snow has started to melt like crazy. I don’t know that it will still be here come next week. At this point, I’m thinking that next winter, I may invest in a pair for myself, so I can get out into nature during all seasons.

Right after lunch, we had a lecture on emotions that lead you to eat. The one quote I will take away from it is “The win is in the small step” and that acknowleding that small step is important for the bigger wins. I also got several strategies out of the class for handling emotions without turning to food:

  • Externalize emotions in a way that is safe for you (maybe through a punching bag, or swinging/rocking)
  • Music
  • Writing gratitude weekly
  • Finding things that inspire you

One thing I have noticed yesterday and today, is that after the classes dealing with emotional eating I came straight back to my room to “digest” the information as opposed to heading to the next exercise class. I think having that time to really think on the class afterwards is helpful for me, because I’m afraid to forget it all. I think that’s another reason having this blog is a good thing. It allows me to keep track of what I’ve learned, so I can go back and re-read it later (and it’s so much easier than hand-writing 10 pages in a journal).

I attended the “Making Sleep Work for You” lecture this evening and learned something I did not know. The human body temperature rises a couple of degrees around 3am (which can explain those early morning “wake-ups”). Speaking of waking in the middle of the night, I never thought about practicing meditation if I couldn’t fall back asleep. For some reason, my brain associated meditation with daytime. It was also suggested that we experiment to figure out what does and doesn’t work for us.

Responses

  1. I think I read somewhere that 15-20 minutes of uninterrupted meditation can be the equivalent as a 1-2 hour nap. So, yeah, I can see that it would be helpful for early waking!


Leave a Reply

Categories

