Posted by: Brenda | March 14, 2012

Day 10: Tai Chi and Nurturing Yourself

This morning when I got up and looked outside, I saw the bottom half of Okemo mountain shrouded in fog and frost covering the ground. It looked like a beautiful pre-dawn fairyland. Before I could enjoy it too much, however, we had Tai Chi at 7am. I think I would have enjoyed it more if my left calf wasn’t bothering me so much this morning. I’m pretty sure it was the 45-minute walk I did yesterday afternoon (it was so nice outside).

I’m so glad my room overlooks the front lawn area, because there’s a couple of chipmunks out there scampering around this morning, and I could swear they’re looking at me. It’s yet another sign that Spring is here and the world is coming back to life, renewed. It would be a lot nicer if I wasn’t starting to get a cold. I sound like a frog this morning, but only my sinuses are congested (as opposed to my nasal passage). I’m going to try to take it easy on the exercise today, as I don’t want to overdo it and make my body feel worse than it does now.

This afternoon’s class was on nurturing the whole self (Body, Mind, Heart, Spirit/Creative) and it was recommended to have 2-3 strategies in each category for when we need that nurturing. Which us women so readily give to everyone but ourselves. I listed some suggestions below from the list my class came up with.

Body:

  • Exercise
  • Progressive Relaxation
  • Massage
  • Stretch
  • Petting your pet (if you have one)
  • Knitting/Crochet

Mind:

  • Reading
  • Meditation
  • Affirmations
  • Journaling
  • Puzzles
  • Daydreaming

Heart:

  • Music
  • Talking to someone
  • Hug
  • Singing
  • Movies that allow the emotion to flow (like tear-jerkers)

Spirit/Creative:

  • Networking
  • Prayer/Meditation
  • Nature
  • Dance
  • Volunteering

We also learned methods for how to reduce procrastination. The first one is saying to yourself “I can do anything for one minute.” If that’s not enough, setting a timer for 5-10 minutes and then deciding if you want to stop or if you want to continue with whatever it is you were procrastinating on.

As for me, personally, I’m hoping that I can get rid of the sinus congestion I’ve had all day. I feel like I drank a gallon of Peppermint tea today and plan on taking a dose of Nyquil before bed so I can sleep. I can’t wait to see what tomorrow holds!

Responses

  1. Don’t forget funny movies, it’s proven that laughing uplifts your mood!


Leave a Reply

Categories

