Posted by: Brenda | March 22, 2012

Day 18: Eating Scary Foods

So this morning I took part in the lower body conditioning class (strength training) and then went for a 30 minute walk. I’m wishing I had tried harder to avoid the bigger hills around here because my leg is now swollen and hurting (not surprising). However, at least I got out to do something today and wasn’t completely lazy.

After lunch we had a class on eating scary foods (like chocolate covered pretzels). We learned that eating a high fat breakfast can increase cravings for high fat foods later in the day. We were also taught the 4 major thinking errors:

  • self-fulfilling prophecy (“I can’t eat brownies in moderation”)
  • all or nothing (“I’m not going to eat any birthday cake” or “I’m just going to eat the whole thing”)
  • last chance (“I better eat these peanut butter cups now because I’m not going to have them in the house after today”)
  • learned helplessness (“I can’t stop myself”)

We also reviewed the 3 principles for Mindful Eating:

  1. Wait for hunger (Am I hungry now?) – Consider the result based on your response
  2. Eat what you want, but focus on the 3 T’s (taste, texture and temperature) – if you can’t figure out what you really want, you may not be hungry
  3. Focus (on short-term and long-term)
Leave a Reply

Categories

