Posted by: Brenda | March 30, 2012

Day 26: Getting Ready to Go Home

I can’t believe it’s been a whole month already. I’m excited to be going home tomorrow morning, but at the same time I am scared. I won’t be in the “bubble” anymore. I am so thankful that I have a supportive family who are all willing to support me on my path to being healthy.

Our first morning class today was on overcoming exercise obstacles. We covered all the excuses that we normally would give (such as, I’m too tired, I can’t keep up, TV, etc.). We covered how you can do strength training on the sofa (you don’t need to look at your arms to do bicep curls). We also went back over things to do for negative self-talk. The first step was to detach from the situation and re-focus on your goal (whether to lose weight, or just be healthier).

The 2nd step we covered was the “4 second rule” which means that every 4 seconds, readjust your body as if a prophet is about to speak. A good example is if someone asks “So how much weight did you lose?” and you answer with “Well, I learned it’s not about the weight, it’s about how I feel about myself in my body.” If the person repeats the question, with something like: “But I thought you went to lose weight?” you can respond with something like: “What part of me being comfortable in my body did you not understand or like?” Guaranteed the person asking is going to be extremely uncomfortable having the tables turned.

Finally we were instructed to write a letter to ourselves with all the “nuggets” we’ve picked up while here and put it into a sealed envelope. On the outside of the envelope, we wrote “For Emergency Use Only” and were told to put it someplace we can find it when we get home. The letter is to help us if for some reason we just don’t feel like exercising. We were taught that if that situation arises where we don’t want to exercise, we are to ask ourselves 3 questions:

  • Am I too stressed? – If yes, than exercise
  • Am I sick? – If yes, than rest and recuperate
  • Am I just bored with my fitness routine? – If yes, than change it up

If we are unable to answer these questions, than we let it go. If the same thing happens a 2nd day, we let it go. However, if it happens a 3rd day, we are to read our letter and than walk as fast as we can for 10 minutes. After that 10 minutes, we can ask ourselves whether we want to continue with the exercise. One good thing to remember, is you do not have to go to a gym to get strength, cardio or flexibility training into your life. You can do strength training while watching TV, you can go for a cardio walk outside and you can stretch in between.

Leave a Reply

Categories

